Thompson Named ‘Health IT Pioneer’ for Work to Expand Access to Telemedicine for Veterans

December 18, 2017
Press Release

Award recognizes legislators who have aggressively pushed for technology-enabled solutions to spur improvements in healthcare

WASHINGTONU.S. Representative Glenn ‘GT’ Thompson was recently presented with a Health IT Pioneer award for his bill, H.R. 2123 the VETS Act, which expands access to telemedicine in the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs medical system.  

Rep. Thompson introduced the VETS Act with Rep. Julia Brownley (D-CA) earlier this year and the House passed the bill in November.

Health IT Now is a broad-based coalition of patient groups, provider organizations, employers, and payers supporting health information technology to improve patient outcomes. It recently presented its annual Health IT Pioneer awards, the organization’s highest honor, to select Members of Congress.

The Health IT Pioneer awards recognize legislators who have aggressively pushed for technology-enabled solutions to spur improvements in healthcare. Lawmakers were also recognized for their support of the VETS Act and the Increasing Telehealth Access in Medicare Act, measures endorsed by HITN to make telehealth services more readily available within the Veterans Administration and Medicare Advantage programs. 

“I am pleased the House passed the VETS Act, which will allow our servicemen and women greater access to care – especially those in rural areas,” Rep. Thompson said. The VETS Act will ensure that our veterans receive timely health care no matter where they live. I thank Health IT Now for its unwavering support of the legislation and for presenting me with the Health IT Pioneer award.”

“At Health IT Now, our members recognize the transformative potential of health IT to empower patients, support providers, and lower overall healthcare costs – and so do each of this year’s Health IT Pioneer award recipients,” said HITN Executive Director Joel White. “These legislators are truly our Congressional champions; pushing for a future-focused healthcare system that leverages the power of technology to improve care coordination, simplify administrative burdens, reduce unnecessary testing, and offer enhanced clinical decision support. Each of this year’s recipients has shown a commitment to the full integration of technology in healthcare that is inspiring and worthy of recognition. We look forward to continuing to partner with these health IT leaders on Capitol Hill and cultivating many others in the year ahead.” 

In addition to Rep. Thompson, awardees include: Rep. Diane Black (R-TN), Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Rep. Susan Brooks (R-IN), Rep. Julia Brownley (D-CA), Rep. Evan Jenkins (R-WV), Rep. Doris Matsui (D-CA), Rep. Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), Rep. Tim Ryan (D-OH), and Rep. Mike Thompson (D-CA), as well as Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Sen. Joe Manchin (D-WV), and Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH).