Thompson, Cartwright Introduce Legislation Addressing Abandoned Coal Mines

September 10, 2019
Press Release
AML Reauthorization Act Will Renew Abandoned Mine Land Trust Fund

Washington, DC – Last night, Representatives Glenn ‘GT’ Thompson (PA-15) and Matt Cartwright (PA-08) introduced H.R.4248, the Abandoned Mine Land Reauthorization Act to reauthorize the Abandoned Mine Land (AML) trust fund, originally established in 1977 via the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act. The bill will not only clean up abandoned coal mines, but foster economic development in communities who have been impacted by their closure.

Of Pennsylvania’s 67 counties, 43 have abandoned mine land sites, with Pennsylvania’s 15th District ranking first nationally.

The current fund is set to expire in September 2021. The AML Reauthorization Act will:

  • Extend states’ authority to collect fees at current levels for 15 years;
  • Expand funding for states that have not been certified for reclaiming high-priority coal AML areas;
  • Provide for the delegation of emergency AML programs to states;
  • And reimburse states for AML fees that were sequestered since Fiscal Year 2013.

“Pennsylvania’s heritage is rooted in coal, which powered an industrial revolution and won two World Wars. With these great advancements also came the need for environmental restoration, and while we have made great progress over the past four decades, there remains much to be done,” said Congressman Glenn ‘GT’ Thompson. “Reauthorizing the AML fund will ensure continued support for critical reclamation activities, while also providing both environmental and economic benefits to coal regions. With the current trust fund set to expire in September 2021, Congress must take up this bipartisan legislation.”

“This act is vital for many communities in my district and around the country,” said Congressman Cartwright. “Abandoned coal mines pose a great risk to our health, our environment, and our economic development. Nearly 10 percent of all Pennsylvanians live within one mile of an abandoned mine. We need to invest in their well-being and make sure they are safe from the health hazards that come from living near these sites.”


Congressman Glenn “GT” Thompson is a senior member of the House Committee on Agriculture, where he serves as Chairman of the Subcommittee on General Farm Commodities and Risk Management. He is also a member of the Education and Labor Committee, leading the nation on issues related to Career & Technical Education and skills training. Pennsylvania’s 15th Congressional District includes Armstrong, Cambria, Cameron, Clarion, Clearfield, Elk, Forest, Indiana, Jefferson, McKean, and Warren county, as well as portions of Butler and Centre County.

Congressman Matt Cartwright is a member of House Democratic Leadership and the House Committee on Appropriations. He serves as Vice Chair of the Commerce-Justice-Science Subcommittee and is a member of the Financial Services & General Government and Military Construction-VA Appropriations Subcommittees. He also serves on the Committee on Natural Resources. Pennsylvania’s 8th Congressional District includes Lackawanna, Wayne, and Pike Counties, and portions of Luzerne and Monroe Counties.