Thompson Announces $11.9M Grant for McKean, Venango & Crawford County Railway Enhancement

March 5, 2020
Press Release
Federal Railroad Administration Grant Invests in Rural Communities

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, Congressman Glenn 'GT' Thompson announced McKean County as the recipient of an $11,926,000 Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) Consolidated Rail Infrastructure and Safety Improvements (CRISI) grant.

"Reliable infrastructure is necessary to continue safely moving freight throughout our region," said Rep. Thompson. "This investment will better connect freight service, greatly improve safety, and bolster our capacity for increased commerce in North Western Pennsylvania. This grant is a real victory and I commend the McKean County Commissioners and Economic Development Organization for their persistence with this project.” 

Specifically, the funds will be used for the McKean, Venango, and Crawford Counties' Freight Rail Capacity and Safety Enhancement Project to improve rail service in rural communities. In October 2019, Congressman Thompson advocated for the grant through correspondence with Ronald Batory, the Federal Railroad Administrator.

“The announcement from Congressman Glenn Thompson that McKean County will be receiving 11.9 million dollars in Consolidated Rail Infrastructure and Safety Improvements (CRISI) funding represents a transformational economic development opportunity for McKean, Venango and Crawford counties," said Sherri Geary, Director of Economic Development of McKean County. "The positive impact on our environment and our roadways will be realized by a reduction in Truck traffic. Submitting this application on behalf of McKean County and our region is one of the proudest moments of my career.”

About FRA Consolidated Rail Infrastructure and Safety Improvements Grants

Consolidated Rail Infrastructure and Safety Improvements grants, or CRISI grants, fund projects that improve the safety, efficiency, and reliability of passenger and freight rail. To learn more about the program, including eligibility requirements, please visit the Department of Transportation website.