House Republican Leadership Taps Thompson to Join American Energy Solutions Group

March 31, 2009
Press Release

Group will develop policy that ensures energy independence without raising taxes

Washington, DC – U.S. Representative Glenn ‘GT’ Thompson (R-Pa.), has been tapped by House Republican Leader John Boehner (R-Ohio), to serve as a member of the House GOP American Energy Solutions Group. The group will be chaired by Republican Conference Chairman Mike Pence (R-Ind.).

“The skyrocketing energy prices of a year ago, that brought the economy to its knees, are bound to return if action is not taken by this Congress,” said Thompson. “In this time of economic uncertainty, the last thing taxpayers need to worry about are higher energy costs. The group Leader Boehner has assembled will chart a new path toward securing America’s energy independence – a path that utilizes our vast natural resources and the ingenuity of the American people – without raising taxes.”

Securing energy independence continues to be top priority of Congressman Thompson and the House Republican Conference.

“High energy costs continue to hit the pocketbooks of American families and small businesses,” said Boehner.  “As gasoline prices skyrocketed to record levels last summer, Republicans consistently advocated an all-of-the-above strategy to create up to one million new jobs in the United States by increasing American energy production, encouraging greater efficiency and conservation, and promoting the use of alternative fuels.”

“I look forward to working with Rep. Thompson and other key House Republicans to develop a policy that ensures energy independence without raising taxes.” Pence said. “Rep. Thompson is an important asset to the House GOP American Energy Solutions Group and will be a great ally as we work to ensure our nation’s families are not punished with higher energy costs.”

Members of the House GOP American Energy Solutions Group include:

• Rep. Mike Pence (R-IN), Chairman
• Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL), Co-Chair
• Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI), Co-Chair
• Rep. Joe Barton (R-TX)
• Rep. Michele Bachmann (R-MN)
• Rep. Rob Bishop (R-UT)
• Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)
• Rep. Dave Camp (R-MI)
• Rep. Shelly Moore Capito (R-WV)
• Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX)
• Rep. John Fleming (R-LA)
• Rep. Ralph Hall (R-TX)
• Rep. Doc Hastings (R-WA)
• Rep. Cynthia Lummis (R-WY)
• Rep. Kenny Marchant (R-TX)
• Rep. Mike McCaul (R-TX)
• Rep. Devin Nunes (R-CA)
• Rep. Pete Olson (R-TX)
• Rep. Steve Scalise (R-LA)
• Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI)
• Rep. John Shadegg (R-AZ)
• Rep. John Sullivan (R-OK)
• Rep. Lee Terry (R-NE)
• Rep. Glenn Thompson (R-PA)
• Rep. Pat Tiberi (R-OH)
• Rep. Greg Walden (R-OR)